EXPERIENCED DUI DEFENSE ATTORNEY AVAILABLE IN THE LOS ANGELES, CA AREA
A DUI attorney can play a huge part in saving you from some very harsh, far-reaching, and irreversible consequences in California. Do you feel that it is fair to let one mistake ruin the rest of your life? Just a single conviction of DUI can lead to a slew of incredibly severe penalties that can continue to follow you, wherever you go, in the form of an alcohol-related offense on both your driving record and your criminal record. You may be facing jail time, but that is not nearly not all you have to worry about when charged with DUI. DUI convictions can go hand in hand with very expensive fines, suspension of your driving privileges, the loss of your job or potential future job offers, the embarrassing installation of an ignition interlock device in your vehicle, and permanent damage to your personal and professional reputation. If you have been charged with DUI in Los Angeles, CA, Irvine, CA, or Westlake Village, CA, you need a DUI defense attorney like Myles L. Berman on your side to tirelessly defend your rights.
Is Jail Time Mandatory For DUI In California?
On a first-time misdemeanor DUI offense in California, you will face up to a maximum of six months in county jail, according to state law. In Los Angeles County, the prosecuting attorney frequently offers plea agreements to first-time offenders which do not involve any jail time. Other counties, however, use different standards when sentencing for a DUI conviction. For example, Ventura county is particularly strict. There, a first-time misdemeanor DUI conviction will carry with it a minimum of 48 hours in jail. It is important to note that even if you are sentenced to jail time, you may be able to receive credit for time already served. It is important to discuss these details with your DUI attorney.
How Much Is The Fine For DUI In California?
The penalties for a DUI conviction in California vary based on the specific circumstances of the case, and this includes fines. However, the law does provide a range of possible penalties, depending on how many prior convictions the defendant has on his or her record. In California, a DUI conviction will remain on your record and be considered a prior conviction for 10 years. For a first or second offense, the fine for a DUI conviction will cost between $380 and $1,000. A third offense will cost up to $1,800.
Is DUI A Felony In Los Angeles, California?
Most DUI charges are misdemeanors. However, a DUI involving aggravating factors can be charged as a felony. Aggravating factors include:
- Serious injuries caused to another person
- Causing the death of another person
- Three or more prior DUI convictions on your record within the past 10 years
- At least one prior felony DUI conviction
When a DUI is charged as a felony, the possible penalties become much more serious and you can face time served in prison. This is a legal emergency that must receive the attention of a seasoned DUI defense attorney.